Psalms 2

It came to my attention that I get very tied up in bad habits-judging people, gossiping, and just not being grateful for what I have. Faith is something that is important to me, but how often do I actually take this to heart? I want to dedicate time each week to reading the Bible and reflecting on it, starting with Psalms. While my reflections are rather shallow in comparison to great scholars, it is my goal to improve my understanding of the Bible and also strengthen my faith. 

Psalm 2:

Why do the nations protest and the people conspire in vain? Kings on earth rise up and princes plot together against the LORD and against his anointed one: “Let us break their shackles and cast off their chains from us!”The one enthroned in heaven laughs; the Lord derides them,Then he speaks to them in his anger, in his wrath he terrifies them: “I myself have installed my king on Zion, my holy mountain.” I will proclaim the decree of the LORD, he said to me, “You are my son; today I have begotten you. Ask it of me, and I will give you the nations as your inheritance, and, as your possession, the ends of the earth. With an iron rod you will shepherd them, like a potter’s vessel you will shatter them.” And now, kings, give heed; take warning, judges on earth. Serve the LORD with fear; exult with trembling, Accept correction lest he become angry and you perish along the way when his anger suddenly blazes up. Blessed are all who take refuge in him!”

I read a reflection on Psalm 2 which made me see this verse in a totally different perspective. The author seems thoroughly confused on why people would ever protest God. The author knows that there is no reason to break away, and to a certain extent so do we. We almost always know what we should do, we just don’t do it because it is to hard or not what we want. I do things that I know in the long-term will not bring me happiness because in the moment I gain some temporary pleasure. A big example for me is procrastinating which I do all to often, even though I know I will be so irritated with myself later for not working on the assignment earlier.

The next point that I want to bring to light is that it says “The one enthroned in heaven laughs”. This verse reminds me of when people say something to the effect of “we make the plans while God laughs and throws us a curve ball”. The Psalmist is saying that God is laughing at those who try to out smart or out plan God. It’s impossible, so why do I try? I don’t really know the answer to this, maybe I’m too lazy or prideful. I think this is something I really need to reflect on, why I rebel against God when I know it is so far from the truth. Let me know what you think in the comments.

I love how Psalm 2 ends, with something hopeful in all of the sin. When we seek refuge in God, we will be able to get to Heaven. We don’t have to be perfect, but we do have to try to work on our faults. In all the evil and terrible things, there is always hope and it is through hope that love and faith endure.

Let me know what strikes you about this chapter of Psalms in the comments! 

Mags

4 thoughts on “Psalms 2

  1. It strikes me in having faith in god when you’re stressed that something isn’t going to go your way. And we try and scramble to fix it but it never works because gods plan is not that. I had an experience of this last week I got the flu just before I was planning to go on retreat with my friends and I didn’t go. I was very sad that I didn’t go but I had no choice and it was just one of those things that god didn’t have planned for me. Even though I planned for it I didn’t plan on getting sick. What I do plan (and lord willing) God has planned for me is to finish my homework lol I think god may have the same plan as I do. Keep up the good work mags.
    Adam,

    Like

  2. As a Muslim, it is really nice to see people being so open and humble about their faith! Just followed your blog- if you have the time, maybe you could check out mine and let me know what you think of it? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

