Psalms 1

Hey guys! So I’ve been thinking a lot about my blog and what I want to do with it and I realized that one aspect of my life that I have not included is my faith. Religion plays an important role in my life and recently I have really wanted to go deeper into my faith and I think one way I can do this is reflecting weekly on parts of the Bible. I don’t always take the time everyday to pray and reflect on scripture, but I’m going to change that.  

The first chapter of the book of Psalms says:

“How blessed is anyone who rejects the advice of the wicked and does not take a stand in the path that sinners tread, nor a seat in company with cynics, but who delights in the law of Yahweh and murmurs his law day and night. Such a one is like a tree planted near streams; it bears fruit in season and its leaves never wither, and every project succeeds.How different the wicked, how different! Just like chaff blown around by the wind the wicked will not stand firm at the Judgement nor sinners in the gathering of the upright. For Yahweh watches over the path of the upright, but the path of the wicked is doomed.”

An article I read emphasized the importance saying “blessed” because it shows us directly what will bring us happiness and leave us fulfilled. Those who are blessed are the ones who don’t follow evil, but also the ones that make a point to put themselves out of the path of evil. This blew me away, and while I’m now thinking “Mags how did you not get this?” I’m gonna keep telling myself baby steps.

If we want to avoid sin and evil, we must put ourselves as far away from it as possible. We must find a foundation that will allow us to continue to prosper. If we want to plant a flower, we put it in good soil in a place that has accessibility to good light, not a dark corner to be ignored.

In the end, God sees all. He knows everything too. There is no place I can hide my sins, but I can make a good foundation and work on my flaws and in doing so I can show my faith and hope for mercy.

If you enjoyed this mini reflection, comment down below! I plan to reflect every Sunday on a chapter of Psalms and post about it so let me know what I should add or change!

Until next time, Mags

5 thoughts on “Psalms 1

  1. I enjoyed reading this Sunday morning devotional and I look forward to reading many more. May god add a blessing to the readers, hearers, and doers of his word and help us with implementation. Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I very much liked this reflection for the past month I’ve been reading a chapter of Psalm everyday and its really opened my eyes. I hope to hear more from you soon 😊
    Adam,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

