Inspiring Humans: Martin Luther King Jr.

I first leaned of MLK in second grade when my class did a project about our dreams for society that was based off of MLK’s famous speech “I Had A Dream”. This speech inspired so many people, and today even though our world still struggles with racism, I think we can see that King helped many people have a change of heart and inspired many more in generations to come.

I know personally that I don’t always really look into why we have these holiday days at school but this year I really want to stop and think about why I do. MLK didn’t gift for a cause just to give us a holiday, he did it to change the world. I decided to reread his speech “I Had A Dream” and one part stood out to me that I want to include.

“I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream. I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”- Martin Luther King Jr

King held onto his dream through so much violence and racism, but I can barely keep my hope alive during an election. From this speech, I realize that our country still doesn’t align itself with our creed but I can fight to make this happen and maybe I can help America become a little bit of a better place.

I wish you all a good MLK day!

Mags

Leave a Reply

